Small Business and Non Profit Awards Announced for 2019

June 26, 2019

Last Thursday, the Southport-Oak Island Area Chamber of Commerce announced the recipients of the 2018-2019 Small Business Awards.  Nominations from the Chamber membership and the public were accepted until April 30th

To compete for the awards, a nominee submitted a packet of information for outside review by the Brunswick Community College Small Business Center. Selections were based on judging criteria for financial performance and business history, staff training and motivation, community involvement, customer service and economic impact.

The 2018-2019 Southport-Oak Island Area Chamber of Commerce Small Business of the Year was awarded to Fulford Heating and Cooling.  Fulford Heating and Cooling has been in our community for 45 years and their economic impact is evident, their diverse staff is respectful, community involvement is phenomenal and even though running a small business in a rural community can have its struggles, Fulford Heating and Cooling does it well while giving back to its community.

Laurie Insurance Group was awarded the Customer Service of the Year Award for their dedication to providing excellent customer service to all their customers. The Laurie Insurance Group has proven through their many sponsorships, donations, community education and going over and beyond just being an insurance agency.  After hurricane Florence, Laurie Insurance Group personally checked the homes of their clients the true spirit of great customer service.

This year the Chamber added a new award category - Non-Profit of the Year.  Brunswick Family Assistance is the 2018-2019 Southport-Oak Island Non-Profit of the Year.   They stood out because of the services they provided those in our community to those who were and continue to be in crisis because of damages caused by Hurricane Florence.  Brunswick Family Assistance went above and beyond their core mission by stepping up when their community needed them the most.

Nominations for Small Business of the Year and Non-Profit of the Year will be taken online at from January 1st– April 30, 2020.  The next Quarterly nomination deadline for the Golden Pineapple Award is July 31st.